St. George Serbian Orthodox Church
Diocese of New Gracanica and Midwestern America
300 Stryker Avenue, Joliet, Illinois 60436
Monthly Calendar
(Printing Instructions)
Schedule of Services

Schedule of Divine Services/Распоред Богослужења 

If a service is canceled or there is a change in time, it will be listed in the Weekly Bulletin which is distributed on Sundays and available online at facebook.com/stgeorgejoliet

 

 

Church Services for September and October 2018:

  • Sunday, September 2 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am, coffee hour
  • Saturday, September 8 - Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, September 9 - Synaxis of Serbian Saints, Divine liturgy at 10 am, coffee hour and kolo meeting
  • Monday, September 10 - Vespers and confession at 6 pm
  • Tuesday, September 11 - Feast of Beheading of St John (Usekovanije, postan dan) - fast day, Divine Liturgy at 9 am
  • Sunday, September 16 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Invocation of the Holy Spirit upon the teachers and students for the beginning of school year, classes to follow. Parents and priest meeting in church after the services.  Lifeline luncheon sponsored by Joliet and Lansing's Kolos.
  • Thursday, September 20 - Vigil and confession at 6 pm
  • Friday, September 21 - Feast of the Nativity of the Theotokos (Mala Gospojina), Divine Liturgy at 9 am
  • Saturday, September 22 - Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, September 23 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Church school and lunch sponsored by the American Serbian Social Club
  • Wednesday, September 26 - Vigil and confession at 6 pm. Please call Fr Aleksandar if you have a fresh basil (bosiljak) and other flowers to bring to church.
  • Thursday, September 27 - The Exaltation of the Precious Cross (Krstovdan, postan dan), fast day. Divine Liturgy at 9 am
  • Sunday, September 30 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Celebration of St Cassiana / Kasijana, choir slava. Church school.
  • Saturday, October 6 - Memorial Saturday - Zadusnice. Divine Liturgy and general parastos for all reposed Orthodox Christians. Please bring the list of names of your reposed family members to be commemorated. Please call Fr Aleksandar if you want to prepare koljivo and/or pogaca to bring. Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Church school and coffee hour
  • Saturday, October 13- Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, October 14 - Feast of the Protection of the Theotokos (Pokrov Bogorodice). Church school and coffee hour
  • Saturday, October 20 - Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - Holy fathers of 7th ecumenical council, Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Church school and coffee hour
  • Friday, October 26 - Vespers and confession at 6 pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - Holy mother Parasceva (Sv Petka). Divine Liturgy at 9 am. Vespers and confession at 5 pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - Divine Liturgy at 10 am. Church school and coffee hour
  • Wednesday, October 31 - Feast of St Luke the evangelist (Sv Luka). Divine Liturgy at 9 am
Schedule of Services
Sunday
10:00am - Divine Liturgy
  

Today's Readings

St. George Serbian Orthodox Church